AUSTRALIAN POLITICAL EXCHANGE COUNCIL

NINTH DELEGATION FROM NEW ZEALAND

6 - 12 OCTOBER 2012

Ballarat, Victoria

The Ballarat program has been developed with the assistance of the Hon Catherine King MP, Federal Member for Ballarat (Japan 2002 and New Zealand 2005)

- Meeting and lunch with Mr Anthony Schinck, Chief Executive Officer, City of Ballarat,
 Cr Mark Harris, Mayor, Mr Jeff Pulford, Director Destination and Economy and Mr George Sossi,
 Director, Ballarat Regional Tourism
- Guided tour of Sovereign Hill including Mine Tour
- Blood on the Southern Cross show
- Visit to Ballarat Wildlife Park
- Luncheon hosted by Ms Jaala Pulford MP, Opposition Parliamentary Secretary for Regional and Rural Development and Agriculture, State Member for Western Victoria (China 2008)
- Guided tour of the Art Gallery of Ballarat
- Afternoon tea hosted by the Hon Catherine King MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing, Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport, Federal Member for Ballarat (Japan 2002 and New Zealand 2005)

Melbourne, Victoria

- Briefing by the Australian Electoral Commission
- Briefing by Sustainability Victoria
- Luncheon hosted by the Presiding Officers the Hon Bruce Atkinson MLC, President of the
 Legislative Council and the Hon Ken Smith MP, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Victoria.
 Guests included Mr Gary Blackwood MP, Ms Inga Peulich MLC, Ms Jane Garrett MP,
 Ms Jenny Mikakos MLC, Ms Sue Pennicuik MLC, Mr Paul Weller MP, Mr Wayne Tunnecliffe and
 Mr Ray Purdey
- Briefing and guided tour of the Parliament of Victoria
- Meeting with the Hon Peter Hall MP, Leader of The Nationals in the Legislative Council, Minister for Higher Education and Skill, Minister responsible for the Teaching Profession, State Member for Eastern Victorian Region
- Dinner hosted by the Hon Robert Ray, Chairman of the Council and Mrs Jane Ray. Guests included the Hon Tony Robinson (Japan 2006), Mr Noah Carroll (New Zealand 2012), Ms Catherine Davis (Vietnam 2011), Ms Kathryn Hodges (New Zealand 2007) and Mr Michael Barrett (Germany 1999)

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

- Guided tour of the Australian War Memorial
- Meeting with Mr Don Randall MP, Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government,
 Federal Member for Canning
- Luncheon hosted by Senator Dean Smith, Senator for Western Australia (USA 1997 and New Zealand 2012). Also attended by Mr Anthony Baker (New Zealand 2012)
- Briefing on The Nationals by Mr Scott Mitchell, Federal Director (USA 2000)
- Briefing on the Liberal Party of Australia by Mr Bruce Edwards, International Secretary (Japan 1992)
- Courtesy call on Patron of the Council, the Hon Peter Slipper MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives

- Dinner hosted by HE Major General (Rtd) Martyn Dunne, High Commissioner for New Zealand
- Briefing on the Australian Labor Party by Mr Nick Martin, Assistant National Secretary (USA 2009)
- Briefing on the Australian Greens by Senator Christine Milne, Leader of the Australian Greens,
 Senator for Tasmania, Principal of the Council
- Meeting with the Hon Richard Marles MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs,
 Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs, Federal Member for Corio
- Meeting with the Hon Gary Gray AO MP, Special Minister of State, Minister for the Public Service and Integrity, Minister with portfolio responsibility for the political exchange program, Federal Member for Brand (USA 1989)
- Luncheon hosted by the Hon Gary Gray AO MP (USA 1989). Guests included Council Members the Hon Kevin Andrews MP (UK 2001), Mr George Wright, and Senator the Hon John Faulkner, and Mr George Christensen MP (China 2007) and Mr Bruce Edwards (Japan 1992)
- Question Time in the House of Representatives and the Senate
- Courtesy call on Patron of the Council, Senator the Hon John Hogg, President of the Senate
- Meeting with Mr Luke Hartsuyker MP, Shadow Minister for Youth and Sport, Shadow Minister for Regional Communications, Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House, Federal Member for Cowper (Japan 2005)
- Dinner with former delegates Cr Cameron O'Neil (New Zealand 2012), Mr Ross Jordan (New Zealand 2006), Mr Josh Fear (UK 2010), Dr Jane Shelton (New Zealand 2012) and Mr Trent Hasson (New Zealand 2012)

Sydney, New South Wales

- Briefing and guided tour of The National Centre for Indigenous Excellence by Mr Jason Glanville,
 Chief Executive Officer
- Briefing and guided tour of the University of New South Wales
- Meeting with Professor Mary O'Kane, New South Wales Chief Scientist and Engineer